Estonia is a small gem in northern Europe. It is south of Finland and shares borders with Russia and Latvia. We consider it a treasure because it has some of the best preserved medieval cities in the world. The old towns have been built by the German Crusaders in the Late Middle Ages, and some of the architectural pieces are still intact. Tallin is a charming and historic city, and you will love it there. Apart from that, you can enjoy your time along the Baltic Sea. However, keep in mind that the Baltic area is not known for its warmth, and the swimming season is very short. The summers are cool in Estonia, but the winters are harsh. Pack layers if you plan to go there in the winter. Before planning your vacation in Estonia, you should know that you may be required to apply for a Schengen Visa. After all, Estonia is a member of the Schengen Area Agreement. Nonetheless, that is not the case in two instances. One, you are from within the European Union, and you enjoy the freedom of movement, and two, you are from one of the visa waiver countries (Annex II). If none of the situations apply, you must obtain a Schengen visa. To find out whether or not you must apply for a Schengen visa, you can either take a look at the Schengen Area visa policy, or you can use iVisa’s Visa Checker. You will find the button in the top right corner of this page. Choose your nationality from the drag-down menu and put Estonia as your destination. If you do not need a visa, you can proceed and book a flight. If you do, you will be given of list of the embassies you can use to apply. iVisa does not process Schengen visa applications, but we are more than happy to help you with some information. If you have questions regarding the visa, you can contact our support service which is at your disposal 24/7 and is free of charge. Our consultants will try to answer all your questions. What you should know is that a Schengen visa grants you access to all countries that are in the Schengen Area. So to which embassy you must go and apply? The visa policy has strict rules about this. If you go to Estonia only, then yes, you need to visit the nearest Estonian embassy. However, if you have multiple destinations, you need to apply for your Schengen visa at the embassy of the country that is your primary destination. If that cannot be determined, you need to submit your application for your visa at the embassy of the country you visit first. So, if you plan to go to the Czech Republic and then to Estonia, the visa that you get from the Czech embassy grants you entry in Estonia as well. Before going to the embassy, you must ensure that you meet all the requirements. Although you can do your research on the internet, we recommend that you call the embassy itself. It is the most reliable source of information. Websites are not always brought up to date, and that can lead to errors. Just give the embassy a call, and you will find out what you need to know. However, what we can tell you is that you need a passport that is valid and remains as such for at least another 6 months from the date of arrival in Estonia. For further information, contact the nearest Estonian embassy.

Investment-based Immigration Opportunities for Estonia

Business Immigration in Estonia

Estonia is a small country located in Northern Europe near the Baltic coast. With one of the highest per capita income levels in the surrounding regions and mining and technology industries that are constantly expanding, Estonia has recently been attracting foreign investors. These investors may qualify for Estonian permanent residence which carries several valuable benefits.

Temporary Residence in Estonia

There is a two-step process for obtaining Estonian residence through entrepreneurship. First, Estonia must grant the applicant a temporary residence permit. To request the temporary permit, the investor sends an application to the Estonian government, informing the government that the investor qualifies for the permit on the basis of establishing and managing an enterprise that will benefit the country’ economy. However, the enterprise must be a branch, affiliate, subsidiary, or otherwise related to an existing foreign company.

This application must contain the enterprise’s business plan and its formation and operating documents. Moreover, if the applicant has a holding in a company, the applicant must have at least 65,000 euros invested in business in Estonia. Similarly, if the applicant will be the sole proprietor of the enterprise, at least 16,000 euros is required to be invested into business in Estonia.

Once the application is approved, the investor receives the temporary residence permit and can relocate to Estonia to live and work for the enterprise (a spouse and minor children are eligible to accompany the investor).
The initial validity period of the temporary residence permits is five years, and the permits may be extended if the enterprise has generated a sales revenue of at least 200,000 euros each year or if the Estonian monthly social tax that is paid to employees equals five times the Estonian yearly average wage.

Importantly, during the time that the investor and family are temporary residents, the investor must inform the Estonian government of any significant changes in the operation, composition, or activities of the enterprise.

Permanent Residence in Estonia

Once the investor has been a temporary Estonian resident for five years, the investor may apply for permanent residence. To qualify, the investor must have been a resident for at least five years, possess a valid temporary residence permit, have verifiable income to ensure adequate subsistence in the country, possess health insurance, have proficiency in the Estonian language, and have the investor’s residence address registered in the Estonian Population Register.

Estonian permanent residency offers many benefits, such as the unrestricted right to work and live in the country, and more notably, the right to cross other European borders without the need for a visa. As an Estonian permanent resident, the investor can easily travel to Lithuania, Finland, Latvia, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Italy, France, and others.